A#4 September 11

     I don’t believe it is possible to pinpoint what it is that makes you an American anymore.  We are much too diverse to narrow it down, but one thing I do think we as a country unify over on September 11 is respect.  Respect for those innocent men and women at work and flying that lost their lives. Respect for the fearless fire fighters, cops, military personnel, and first responders that selflessly ran toward the burning World Trade Centers to save lives when the didn’t know if they would make it themselves.  Also, respect for all the people around the nation and world that had heavy hearts thinking about everyone who were directly involved that awful day.

     Days like 9/11 should never happen, but it did and so many people lost their lives.  If it’s possible to see a silver lining on a day like that I believe it’s in the stories of the men and women that survived, the husbands and wives that never got to say goodbye, and the children that lost their mommies and daddies.  Of course, no one wished them to have to deal with the lose of loved ones, but the unbelievably inspiring lives these people lead should remind us all how truly blessed we are to be able to hug and kiss our family.

     I always fine it hard to watch the news on September 11.  I had the Today show on as I was getting ready for classes, and they were showing the reading of the names of the victims.  It was difficult to listen to but I it was worth it.  I also watched the ABC Nightly News.  It is continually a humbling thought to think back to that day, and it reminds me to be grateful for everyone I love.

     I heard many inspiring stories from September, 11, but the one that really got to me was a picture of a woman with a short description.  She was crying as she stood looking at the name of her fiancé on the Ground Zero Memorial.  I did not learn her name or his.  I didn’t hear any other details.  But, somehow, in that moment my heart broke for her and a tear ran down my cheek.

     September 11 was one of the biggest global events I have personally lived through.  It not only reminds me to show my respect and appreciation for everyone involved that day, but also for the men and women before me that protected my life, my family, my friends, and everything I love.

Leave a comment